Information and results regarding the Hungarian Twilight Struggle Championships. The third edition of this tournament will be organized on October 14, 2017. Location is the Board Game Cafe in Budapest: Nagyenyed u. 16, 1123 Hungary.
Winner 2015: Földes Gábor
Winner 2016: Földes Gábor
Current participants list: Hegedüs Robin, Pásti László, Mladoneczky Zsolt, Bereczki Larion, Szakács Gábor, Daniël Hogetoorn, Sárosi Ádám, Martonosi Péter, Földes Gábor, Nemes Dániel, Lajtos András, Nagy József, Abonyi Attila, Kőrös Gábor, Bolgár Gábor, Maráz Attila
Tournament entrance fee will be 1500 forint (5 euro), which includes the location costs. The rest will be spend completely on prizes for the first 3 players. We will play 4 or 5 rounds depending on the amount of participants, using chess clocks to track players’ thinking time (1 hour per player per match and half an hour for simultaneous actions). It’s possible that the fifth round will only consist of the match between the first 2 players of the rankings.
We will use the Swiss tournament system (initial rankings decided by the AREA ratings per October 13, 2017). Side assigments will be done by bidding (lower ranked player first). A player will never play one opponent more than once during the tournament.
In case of an odd amount of players, the player being last in the rankings receives a bye (which counts as an automatic victory). A player can’t have more than 1 bye during the tournament.
The winner of a match receives 1 point, a draw awards both players 0.5 point. In case of a tie in the overall ranking during the tournament, I will first look at Berger (resistance) points, then at initial rankings (standings before the first round). In case of a tie in the final rankings, I will first look at the results between the appropriate players, then I take Berger and initial rankings into account.
If you like to join or require more information, please mail me (see Contact page). Note: I can’t accept more than 20 participants due to limited space at the location!
- We play DeLuxe with optional cards. This means that there will be 2 US IP in Canada at the start and we use Aldrich Ames Remix instead of the old Aldrich Ames.
- Please note that some versions of the game has got misprints of the optional cards. The most important issue is the OP value of Our Man in Teheran. This should be 2 (instead of 3).
- If you play an opponent’s event, press the chess clock while he’s performing his action. When he finished he presses the check clock to announce that you can do your stuff.
- At the end of the last action round of the turn, stop the clock and perform end of turn administration and headline phase simultaneously (use the sandtimer to make sure that this doesn’t take longer than 3 minutes). After flipping the headlines, press the chess clock again.
Conduct of behavior
When a player receives a bye or has finished his game, he’s of course free to watch other games. However, it’s not allowed to talk with others directly next to a gameboard, not to disturb the active players. Of course it’s also not done to make any comments regarding the game you are watching, nor to the players involved nor to other people!
- If DEFCON moves to 1, the player whose Action Round it is or the player who played the card triggering the sequence in the Headline Phase loses by Nuclear War!
- Adjacent superpowers give +1 while realigning or using Brush War.
- A free coup means that the player doesn’t get military operations for it. All other rules apply!
- A player doing realignments can lose influence himself.
- Five Year Plan: if USSR draws a US event as a result of FYP, it counts as played by USSR (for example: Defectors would still give 1 VP, unless drawn in the Headline Phase). If US plays this in the headline and draws Defectors, the USSR headline is only cancelled if it has an OP value of 3 or lower.
- China Card: you are never obliged to play this, even if you have spare rounds left.
- Vietnam Revolts: If USSR plays a 4 OP card or the China Card while Vietnam Revolts is in effect, he can use respectively 5 OP or 6 OP if he uses them all in SE Asia.
- Truman doctrine: only works in uncontrolled countries (by neither side).
- Red Scare/Purge: in combination with Brezhnev Doctrine and Containment the advantage and disadvantage nullify eachother (so a 1 OP stays 1 OP, a 4 OP stays 4 OP).
- Formosan Resolution: works in Final Scoring.
- Cuban Missile Crisis: a player is allowed to cancel the Crisis at anytime, but not during a roll or the announcement of an action or performing it. Example: US announces a realignment in Cuba. USSR is not allowed to take 2 IP out of Cuba at this moment to cancel the Crisis. However, after the first roll (and before the US announces his next target) he is allowed to remove 2 IP. Note: it’s a good habit to give the player who played CMC sufficient time to decide about this.
- Bear Trap: if you are not able to discard anymore cards, you immediately start playing scoring cards, 1 per round (if you have them). You can’t lose by Nuclear War by holding scoring cards because of this, so at the moment you have exactly as many rounds to go as you have scoring cards, you start playing your scoring cards. You proceed discarding cards from the first Action Round in the next turn.
- Quagmire: cancels Norad (but doesn’t prevent it if not active yet). If you are not able to discard anymore cards, you immediately start playing scoring cards, 1 per round (if you have them). You can’t lose by Nuclear War by holding scoring cards because of this, so at the moment you have exactly as many rounds to go as you have scoring cards, you start playing your scoring cards. You proceed discarding cards from the first Action Round in the next turn.
- How I Learned: the player receives the 5 MOP immediately (and can therefore use them for Arms Race).
- Kitchen debates: if the condition is not fulfilled, the card is discarded (and not removed from the game).
- Missile Envy: if US plays this in the headline and he gets Defectors, the USSR headline is only cancelled if it has an OP value of 2 or lower. If a player is under Bear Trap/Quagmire and Missile Envy is played on him, he needs to discard Missile Envy in his next turn. If a player is not able to play Missile Envy in his next turn (BearTrap/Quagmire/Red Scare/Purge combination or he’s obliged to play a scoring card), he has to play Missile Envy as soon as he’s able to (not in the headline though). A player receiving UN Intervention (very rare) in exchange for Missile Envy, he has to use it to discard an opponent’s event and use the OP (if he hasn’t got an opponent’s event, nothing happens). If a player is able to get rid of Missile Envy before actually playing it he may do so (for example: Space Race (discarding a held card), or USSR plays AR7 Missile Envy, USA responds with the Scoring Card, then USA headlines “Ask Not…” in the next turn). If USA receives Missile Envy again, he’s still obliged to play it as if it would have been continuously in his hands.
- South African Unrest: USSR is allowed to put 1 in South Africa, 1 in Botswana and 1 in Angola.
- Flower Power: after Camp David Accords cancels A-I War, Flower Power doesn’t give 2 VPs when US play A-I War.
- Shuttle Diplomacy: put it back in the discard pile after resolving. Not valid in Final Scoring.
- Iron Lady: if USSR plays this card, he may not use the just placed USSR IP in Argentina to expand from (it should be seen as NOT there at the start of his turn).
- Star Wars: if the condition is not fulfilled, the card is discarded (and not removed from the game).
- North Sea Oil: US is not obliged to use his 8th
- Tear Down This Wall: although US is allowed to coup in Europe, DEFCON still lowers when performing a coup versus a battleground.
- Wargames: if the condition is not fulfilled, the card is discarded (and not removed from the game). It’s allowed to use this event to NOT ending the game (in that case you remove the card from the game).
- Cambridge Five: can’t be used as an event in Late War!
- Norad: is used by US at the end of any Action Round (it doesn’t matter if it’s the US or USSR Action Round) in which DEFCON moves to 2. US then places 1 IP in one country of his choice where he has got IP already. Cancelled by Quagmire.
Clarification of conditions:
– DEFCON must move to 2 at any moment of the Action Round (for example: if DEFCON is at 3, USA player plays Glasnost and coups before triggering the event, this condition is met although DEFCON is at 3 at the end of the Action Round).
– Canada must be US-controlled at the end of the Action Round but not necessarily at the moment the DEFCON remains at 2 (example: with DEFCON at 3 and Canada non-US controlled USSR plays Star Wars and performs a
battleground coup first dropping DEFCON to 2 with Canada uncontrolled, then US triggers the event, reclaims ABM Treaty, plays it, changes DEFCON to 3 and puts Ops in Canada enough to control; the condition for NORAD is met).
- Che: can’t be used to coup battlegrounds!
- Our Man in Teheran: if the condition is not fulfilled, the card is discarded (and not removed from the game).
Space race track
- If you are allowed to discard a held card, this may NOT be a scoring card!
- If you are allowed to play an 8th round, you are not obliged to.
October 14, 2017:
Location open: 8:00am
Round 1: 8:30am – 11:00pm
Round 2: 11:30pm – 2:00pm
Round 3: 3:00pm – 5:30 pm
Round 4: 6:00pm – 8:30pm
(Round 5: 9:00pm – 11:30pm)
Prize ceremony: 8:45pm or 11:45pm
Final standings 2015: Final standings Hungarian Championships 2015
Results 2015: Hungarian Championship 2015 results
Final standings 2016: final-standings-hungarian-championships-2016
Results 2016: hungarian-championship-2016-results